Global Innovation Awards 2016

Congratulations to the 2016 Turnitin Global Innovation Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Turnitin Global Innovation Awards! This year’s award program recognizes 58 educators, technologists and students in 21 countries for their dedication, innovation and excellence in academic integrity and student engagement.

Each winner and honorable mention is highlighted with their own inspiring story. See their stories.

An international panel of academics and previous winners selected this year’s winners from a record 500 nominations from nearly 50 countries. They chose winners across seven global regions who excel in one of three categories: academic integrity, student engagement, and writing improvement.

Two new awards added this year include the Writing Improvement Award and the Global Innovator Award.

Princewill Odum, Turnitin administrator and Lecturer in Remote Sensing & GIS from the University of Calabar, Nigeria, is this year’s Global Innovator Award winner. The judges selected Odum for his passion and proactive, practical approach to training and raising awareness around academic integrity and scholarly writing conventions.

Odam is currently working toward making the University of Calabar the first university in Nigeria to become a member of the International Center for Academic Integrity. “For our students, Turnitin is a gauge, a meter. They use it to check if their work is something to be proud of. That gives them good joy to know that their work is of an international standard,” he said.

As this year’s Global Innovator, Odum is invited to be a Turnitin guest at the WRITEconference in Bangkok, Thailand in March 2017, which will focus on innovations in education and how technology is shaping writing, research, and academic integrity.

Winners are listed by region and award category as follows:

Overall Global Innovator
Princewill Odum, University of Calabar, Nigeria (Winner)
Ann Rogerson, University of Wollongong, Australia (Runner-up)

Africa & Middle East
Princewill Odum, University of Calabar, Nigeria (Academic Integrity Award)
Eva Sujee, St Mary's Diocesan School for Girls, South Africa (Student Engagement Award)
Fouzia Begum, Middlesex University, UAE (Writing Improvement Award)

Kashif Karim, Aga Khan University Hospital, Pakistan (Academic Integrity Award)
Alex Banks, Handong Global University, South Korea (Student Engagement Award)

Australia & New Zealand, Higher Education
Ann Rogerson, University of Wollongong, Australia (Academic Integrity Award)
Kathie Ardzejewska, University of Notre Dame, Australia (Student Engagement Award)

Australia & New Zealand, Secondary & Further Education
Des Waters, Palmerston North Boys’ High School, New Zealand (Academic Integrity Award)
Ben Edwards, St Michael’s College, Australia (Student Engagement Award)

Javier Belda, Universidad Católica San Antonio de Murcia, Spain (Academic Integrity Award)
Aurora Martínez-Martínez, Universidad Internacional de la Rioja & Universidad Politécnica de Cartagena, Spain (Student Engagement Award)
Boitumelo Olga Mano, World Maritime University, Sweden (Writing Improvement Award)

Latin America & Caribbean
Dariel Diaz Arce, Unidad Educativa Santana-Cuenca, Ecuador (Academic Integrity Award)
Elisa Montoya Cantoral, TECSUP, Peru (Student Engagement Award)
Reider Hernández Huanca, TECSUP, Peru (Writing Improvement Award)

North America, Higher Education
Anthony Iodice and Center for the Enhancement of Learning & Teaching staff, Iona College, New York (Academic Integrity Award)
Jarmese Sherrod, University of Maryland University College, Maryland; Richland Community College, Illinois (Student Engagement Award)

North America, K12
Marye Smith, Hampton High School, Georgia (Academic Integrity Award)
Lisa Wathen, Nicolet High School, Wisconsin (Student Engagement Award)
Obehi Uadiale, Hampton High School, Georgia (Writing Improvement Award)

United Kingdom Higher Education
Nicole Brown, UCL Institute of Education, London (Academic Integrity Award)
Joe Gazdula, University of Bolton, Bolton (Student Engagement Award)

United Kingdom Secondary & Further Education
John Hindmarsh, Westminster Kingsway College, London (Academic Integrity Award)
Madihah Julani, Leyton Sixth Form College, London (Student Engagement Award)

Read the press release.

See the 2016 winners.